Money spent on the brain is never spent in vain Eng  | Укр

Learning English  

Instructor — Anna Savytska
Contact: mobile 097-4719777, Send me a letter e-mail:

Services · Conditions · Short professional activity
English — for present and future · Proverbs and sayings
Taking a near look at Great Britain · Other English-speaking countries · Tests
Add to favourites
Site map Site map

Other English-speaking countries

Besides the United Kingdom most important English-speaking countries are: the United States of America, Canada, the Commonwealth of Australia and New Zealand.

United States of America

The United States of America is the fourth largest country in the world (after Russia, Canada and China). It occupies the southern part of North America and stretches from the Pacific to the Atlantic Ocean. It also includes Alaska in the north and Hawaii in the Pacific Ocean. The total areas of the country are about nine and a half million square kilometres.

The USA is made up of 50 states and the District of Columbia where the capital of the country Washington is situated. The population of the country is about 250 million. Through mainly European and African in origin, Americans are made up from nearly all races and nations, including Chinese and native Americans.

The climate of the country varies greatly. The coldest regions are in the north. The climate of Alaska is arctic. The climate of the central part is continental. The south has subtropical climate. Hot winds blowing from the Gulf of Mexico often bring typhoons.

The USA is a highly developed industrial country. It is the world’s leading producer of copper and oil and the world’s second producer of iron ore and coal. Among the most important manufacturing industries are aircraft, cars, textiles, radio and TV sets, armaments, furniture and paper.


Canada occupies the whole of the north part of the continent of North America and a number of islands. It is the largest country in the world after Russia.

The Niagara Falls on the Niagara River are one of the most splendid sights in the world and attract tourists from all countries.

The climate of the country varies from Arctic climate in the North with winter temperature 50 degrees to moderate climate with summer temperature to 33 degrees. The country has over 29 million inhabitants mostly of English and French origin. The official languages are English and French. The capital of the country is Ottawa. Canada has coal, metal oil and gas. The metal, machine building, chemical industries are highly developed. The largest ports are: Vancouver, Victoria, Montreal, Halifax and Quebec. They are centres of export of canned meat and fish, furs, timber, metals, paper and machines to many countries.

Formally the head of the State is the King or Queen of England. The leading figure in the political life of the country is the Prime minister.

The Commonwealth of Australia

The Commonwealth of Australia is a self-governing federal state. It is situated in the Northwest of the Pacific Ocean and occupies the continent of Australia and a number of islands. It includes six states and two territories. 21 million people live in Australia. The capital of the country is Canberra. The official language is English. The country is situated in the south hemisphere, it has winter when we have summer and vice versa. There are some animals and birds in Australia which are not found elsewhere. They are kangaroo, duckbill, dingo or wild dog, koala bear, emu eagles, parrots and cockatoos. The emu and kangaroo are represented on the national emblem of Australia. The best known native trees are the gum (eucalyptus) and wattle (acacia).

Australia is an important producer and exporter of primary producers. It leads the world in wool production and is significant supplier of grains dairy, producers, meal, sugar and fruit. The Queen Elizabeth II of England is also formally Queen of Australia and is represented there by the Governor-General.

New Zealand

New Zealand is an independent state and a member of the Commonwealth of Nations. It is situated southeast of Australia. Over 3 million people live in the country. The capital of it is Wellington. The majority of the population is of British Origin, but there are small groups of Chinese, Indians, Dutch, Yugoslavs, Greeks and Poles.

English is the universal language although Maori is still spoken among the Maori population.

New Zealand has a temperate wet ocean climate. Like other regions that were cut off from the rest of the world for a long period, New Zealand developed plants with unique characteristics. There are few native animals in the country. Among the non-flying birds the most interesting is the kiwi. It is found only in New Zealand, and it has become the national emblem.

The country exports apples and honey. New Zealand is self-governing state. The English Queen is represented in New Zealand by the Governor-General, appointed for a five year term.

  Site news  
15.06.06 – site was released
23.06.06 – chapter Proverbs was supplemented
05.07.06 – all proverbs in one PDF-file
08.10.06 – site research enclosed 12.03.07 – new chapter of the site– tests
  Useful links  
Britlish Embassy in Ukraine
English lyrics
Online translator
Online dictionary
Top of page
Services · Conditions · Short professional activity
English — for present and future · Proverbs and sayings
Taking a near look at Great Britain · Other English-speaking countries · Tests
© 2006-2010 Anna Savytska. Using materials from this site is permitted only with reference.
Website design and development by Maryan Mishchenko | E-mail: maryan_m[at]

Hosted by uCoz